Tag: mozilla

Disabling Autofill and Saved Passwords in Firefox and Chrome

Let’s face it, we hate to type unnecessary stuff, so if our browser can fill out information for us we’re on board!

Autofill is the feature that automatically completes form data with information you have previously entered.

autofillex

However handy this might seem, it presents a huge privacy and security risk. The information that is saved in your browser – names, addresses, passwords… even credit card numbers – can be stolen through shady scammers websites and in other ways. You can read more about it here: Autofill flaw lets scammers steal credit card information

The safest option is always type the information. If you use a password manager like LastPass or KeePass copy and paste the information instead of using an autofill feature or plugin.

Disabling Autofill and Saving Passwords features in Chrome

Go to the Settings Menu Option

  • Click on the 3 dots button to view the menu
  • Click on Settings

settings

Go to the bottom of the Settings page and click on Shows advanced settings…

advanced

Go to the section Passwords and forms and remove the checkmark on the following options. This will disable both the autofill option and the save passwords option.

autofill

You’re all set!

Disabling Autofill and Saving Passwords features in Firefox

  • Click on the “Open” button (3 lines button)
  • Click on Options

 

options

  • On the left menu click on Privacy
  • On the History section change to “Use Custom settings for history”
  • Remove the checkmark on “Remember search and form history”

privacy

To also disable websites login information (user/password combinations):

  • On the left menu click on Security
  • On the Logins section remove the checkmark “Remember login for sites”

security

Done!

Advertisements

How to tell Thunderbird to Request Confirmation Before Deleting an Email or Empty the Trash

How to re enable confirmation warnings before deleting an email or Emptying the Trash Folder on Mozilla Thunderbird

I tend to delete emails from Thunderbird using SHIFT+DEL out of habit when I’m sure I don’t want that message any more, but recently I accidentally ticked the check-box that tells Thunderbird not to ask me if I’m sure I want to delete such message(s).

deletemail4

Although safer, I didn’t want to delete messages then empty the trash. For whatever reason I wanted to return to the past behavior. In case this has happened to you, here are the steps to get the warning back:

  • Go to the Tools Menu
  • Click on Options
  • Click on Advanced

The picture below shows the Options-Advanced Window. In the lower right you’ll see the “Config Editor” button. Click on It.

deletemail2

You will receive a fair warning as this. Click on I’ll be careful, I promise!

deletemail3

Now you’re on the configuration section. The value I want to change here is:

mail.warn_on_shift_delete   from false to true. To change the value, just double click on the line.

deletemail

If you want to re-enable the confirmation for emptying the Trash folder, the value you should modify is:

mailnews.emptyTrash.dontAskAgain    from true to false.

* Mozilla Thunderbird Version 38 used.

 

I hope this information is useful. Buy me a coffee?
Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com